Sukhothai Thammathirat Open University joined an MOU signing ceremony for cross-registration policy with partner universities in the CGAU meeting.

    On 13 January 2022, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Manit Jumpa, Acting President of Sukhothai Thammathirat Open University joined a virtual MOU signing ceremony to launch the cross-registration program with other 24 partner universities across the country in the meeting of the Council of the Graduate Studies Administrators of Public and Autonomous Universities (CGAU). Prof. Sirirurg Songsivilai, M.D., Ph.D., Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Higher Education, Science, Research and Innovation (MHESI) presided over the virtual ceremony, while Prof. Patcharee Lertrit, M.D., Ph.D., Chairperson of the CGAU and Dean of Faculty of Graduate Studies, Mahidol University, joined as witness and co-signed the MOU.

    Prof. Dr. Sirirurg stated: “MHESI has 3 main missions: to build people, to create a body of knowledge, and to achieve innovation. Within two years after the establishment of MHESI, we have developed new mechanisms that help to solve as many problems as possible for universities, such as grouping universities for the excellence of each, unlocking the maximum period of study to promote lifelong learning, and developing the teacher's career path by adding five channels for achieving academic positions, etc.

    Prof. Dr. Sirirurg added: “The MOU signing today marked an important step of the Thai higher education system. With the approval from 25 institutions, we have accomplished one difficult task. This is considered as a concrete implementation of the TRF's policy on the credit bank system and the sharing of resources. This will be of great benefit to students who deserve the best, offering them the opportunity to explore subjects of their interest and gaining a wide range of experiences from universities with different merits and excellence. The university also benefits from the integration of information and knowledge links between universities. It is a synergistic force for efficient use of resources together and contributes to the country's development.”

    Prof. Patcharee said: “The MOU signing between the 25 institutions is intended to enhance educational collaboration on a graduate level, allowing students to cross-register in graduate programs offered by the partner universities. The acquired credits will be recognized at the student’s home university and can be collected in the credit bank system under the rules and regulations of each university. This is believed to take the academic and social experience of the students to a new level.”

    The 25 partner universities include Kasetsart University, Khon Kaen University, Chulalongkorn University, Chiang Mai University, Thaksin University, King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang (KMITL), King Mongkut's University of Technology Thonburi (KMUTT), King Mongkut's University of Technology North Bangkok (KMUTNB), Thammasat University, Naresuan University, Burapha University, The University of Phayao, Mahidol University, Mahasarakham University, Maejo University, Mae Fah Luang University, Ramkhamhaeng university, Silpakorn University, Srinakharinwirot University, Prince of Songkla University, Sukhothai Thammathirat Open University, Suranaree University of Technology, National Institute of Development Administration (NIDA), Ubon Ratchathani University and Walailak University.

    Students and those interested can visit CGAU Website for more information.

Prof. Sirirurg Songsivilai, M.D., Ph.D.

GCAU meeting

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Manit Jumpa during the MOU signing